二零一七年可持續發展報告

風險管理

確保業務的持續營運能力

有效的風險管理至為關鍵,可確保集團維持持續的長期營運能力。風險管理已融入旗下所有營運公司當中,太古公司集團的全體人員在風險管理方面擔當著不同崗位。各人通力合作應付集團業務的各種風險,實在至關重要。

有關可持續發展的議題,包括氣候變化、政治及監管風險,還有氣候變化應變力和生物多樣性等新浮現的風險,均與此尤為相關。董事局及各部門管理層負責識別及分析為達成業務目標而可能承受的風險(包括與氣候變化及可持續發展有關的風險),以及決定應如何管理及減低該等風險。

集團共有兩個致力監控風險的主要管理委員會,分別為集團風險管理委員會及財務委員會。該兩個委員會由高級管理人員組成,且均由財務董事擔任主席。財務董事就所發生的重大事項向董事局滙報。

關於集團風險管理委員會

集團風險管理委員會由各部門的首要行政人員及董事總經理組成,該等人士直接向董事局滙報。 集團風險管理委員會負責:

  • 審閱各部門的風險登記冊,登記冊載列現有及新浮現的風險,包括業務決策對社會及環境的影響在實質上及聲譽上所引起的問題
  • 制定集團風險管理政策及策略
  • 監察負責風險管理事宜的委員會及工作小組。

風險管治架構

Risk governance structure
我們為旗下業務負責可持續發展事務的人員提供指引和輔助工具,讓他們將SwireTHRIVE應用於業務中,並促使負責財務、風險管理和人力資源的人員將這個政策付諸實行。

可持續發展事務總監馬歌司

圖片: Swire Blue Ocean

企業風險管理

公司採用全面的企業風險管理程序,以識別、評估、監察及管理風險。企業風險管理程序是按照集團的企業風險管理政策而實施和執行,政策的目標是確保備有健全而有效的風險管理系統,使管理層能夠識別各營運公司在目前及未來面對的風險、為風險評定優次,以及減低風險。各部門及主要營運公司均須實施企業風險管理程序。

此政策也要求營運公司必須定期向太古公司呈交企業風險登記冊,並滙報風險狀況的變動。為確保方針一致,該等風險登記冊均按照標準方法、格式及風險評級標準而編製。

集團可持續發展的重大風險

為使業務得以持續發展,我們必須能夠洞察對集團業務發展及客戶構成威脅的風險,並且把握各種新機遇。

太古公司每年委託集團內外人士評估可能影響集團業務的重大風險。於二零一七年,我們重點關注四項潛在風險。

政策檢討程序

我們會根據相關管治機構及董事局的意見,定期檢討現行政策,若發現政策不足,便會設法制定新政策,為集團的政策方針提供指引。於二零一八年,我們陸續推行有關廢物、水資源、多樣性及包容性的新訂和修訂政策。風險管理及可持續發展政策的實施須經內部審核部審查,在需要時由外聘專家顧問給予支援。

請同時參閱太古公司二零一七年報告書「企業管治報告」「風險管理」章節。

2017 Sustainability Report

Risk management

Securing long-term business viability

Effective risk management is key to ensuring the continued long-term viability of the Group. It is embedded throughout all of our operating companies. Everyone in the Swire Pacific group has a role to play in risk management. It is essential that we all work together to address the variety of risks our Group is exposed to.

Sustainability issues, including climate change, political and regulatory risks and emerging risks such as climate resilience and biodiversity, are particularly relevant in this respect. The Board of Directors and the management of each division are responsible for identifying and analysing the risks (including those relating to climate change and sustainability) underlying the achievement of business objectives and for determining how such risks should be managed and mitigated.

There are two key management committees which seek to monitor the risks to which the Group is subject – the Group Risk Management Committee (“GRMC”) and the Finance Committee. These comprise members of senior management and both are chaired by the Finance Director, who reports significant matters to the Board as they arise.

About the GRMC

The GRMC is made up of divisional chief executives and managing directors, who also report directly to the Board. The GRMC:

  • Reviews divisional risk registers, which set out current and emerging risks, including physical and reputational issues that arise from the social and environmental impact of our business decisions
  • Sets group risk management policies and strategies
  • Oversees the committees and working groups which have functional responsibility for risk management

Risk governance structure

Risk governance structure
We provided guidance and supporting tools to those responsible for sustainability in our businesses, thus enabling them to apply SwireTHRIVE to their businesses and to do so with those responsible for finance, risk management and human resources.

Dr. Mark Watson, Head of Sustainable Development, Swire Pacific Limited

Photo courtesy of Swire Blue Ocean

Enterprise Risk Management

We use a comprehensive Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) process to identify, assess, monitor and manage risks. The implementation and execution of the ERM process follows our enterprise risk management policy. The objective of the policy is to ensure that robust and effective risk management systems are in place to enable management to identify, prioritise and mitigate the risks to which our operating companies are and will be exposed. Each division and major operating company is required to implement the ERM process.

As part of this policy, operating companies must regularly submit corporate risk registers and changes in risk profiles to Swire Pacific. In order to ensure consistency of approach, these registers are prepared using standard methodology, format and risk ranking criteria.

Significant sustainability risks

For our business to continue to grow, we must anticipate the risks threatening our development and that of our customers and must capitalise on new opportunities.

Every year, Swire Pacific engages with people inside and outside the organisation in order to assess the material risk issues that might have an impact on its business. In 2017, four potential risks were highlighted.

Policy review process

With input from the relevant governance bodies and our Board, we conduct regular reviews of our existing policies, and where we identify policy gaps we seek to create new policies to guide the Group’s approach. In 2018, we are introducing new or updated policies on waste, water, and diversity and inclusion. The management of risks and the implementation of sustainability policies are subject to scrutiny by our internal audit department, with support from specialist external consultants where necessary.

Please refer also to the Risk Management section of the Corporate Governance Report in the Swire Pacific Annual Report 2017.