二零一七年可持續發展報告

我們的環境

生機蓬勃的環境

在現今世代,我們面對急劇的環境變化。長遠而言,若要業務蓬勃發展,我們必須付出一分力量,共同保護我們賴以生存的環境。多年來,公司一直認真實踐自身的環保責任,並憑著不懈的努力,在減少排放、水資源管理和廢物回收方面均取得持續的進展。

公司各部門的業務營運均符合ISO 14001標準。於二零一七年,地產部門轄下香港物業組合的環境管理系統更榮獲香港品質保證局最新的ISO 14001:2015認證。

推動未來蓬勃發展的策略

二零一六年,時值太古成立二百周年誌慶,我們制定了全新的可持續發展策略SwireTHRIVE,務求業務能在現今日新月異的環境中穩取長足發展。

SwireTHRIVE由集團可持續發展事務部和主要營運公司的代表共同創建,參考最佳常規並根據內部相關方面的專業人士所提供的環境可持續發展檢討結果,商定六項對集團旗下所有部門意義重大的關鍵環境議題,包括碳排放、廢棄物、水資源、可持續物料,生物多樣性氣候變化復原力(見下文)。SwireTHRIVE已獲董事局通過。

SwireTHRIVE著重環境的可持續發展,因為集團業務(以至業務所在社區)的興旺發展,實在有賴生機蓬勃的自然環境配合。

上述策略旨在為集團上下設定貫徹如一的願景和框架。儘管集團旗下多家營運公司已制定不同的可持續發展計劃,但我們認為動員整個集團付諸實行,能提供更多發揮空間,而SwireTHRIVE亦可讓各營運公司彼此合作,共同努力促進集團業務蓬勃發展。

2017 Sustainability Report

Our environment

A thriving environment

We are in an era of rapid environmental change. If our business is to thrive in the long term, we need to play a part in protecting the environment upon which we depend. We have taken our environmental responsibility seriously for many years. This commitment has led to consistent progress in emissions reduction, water management and waste recycling.

Each of our divisions has operations which comply with ISO 14001 standards. In 2017, the environmental management system in the Hong Kong portfolio of our property division received the latest ISO 14001:2015 certification from the Hong Kong Quality Assurance Agency.

A strategy for a thriving future

In 2016, the 200th anniversary of Swire’s foundation, we formulated SwireTHRIVE, our new sustainability strategy, with a view to securing long-term business success in an era of major change.

SwireTHRIVE was co-created by the Group Sustainable Development Office and representatives from major operating companies. There was agreement on six key environmental issues that are material to all the group’s divisions. These are Carbon, Waste, Water, Sustainable Materials, Biodiversity, and Climate Resilience (see below). They were selected by reference to best practice and following a review of environmental sustainability by internal subject matter experts. SwireTHRIVE has been endorsed by the Board.

SwireTHRIVE focuses on environmental sustainability because our success (and that of the communities in which we operate) depends on a thriving natural environment.

The strategy was designed to offer a consistent vision and framework for the Group. While many of our operating companies already had flourishing sustainability programmes, it was agreed that a Group-level commitment would provide an increased remit and opportunities to go further. Through SwireTHRIVE, our operating companies can work together to make our businesses thrive.