Copyright © 2024 Swire Pacific Limited. All rights reserved.
06 Oct 2011
Cathay Pacific Connects to Western China Markets with New Chengdu Freighter Service

Cathay Pacific Airways announced today that it will launch a new scheduled freighter service to Chengdu, one of the fast-developing cargo markets in Western China, on 12 October with flights every Wednesday and Friday. The new service will operate from Chengdu to Shanghai before returning to the Cathay Pacific hub in Hong Kong.

The airline currently operates 16 scheduled freighter flights to Shanghai each week. The flights to Chengdu will enable the airline to grow its presence in the west of the country as it grows in importance as a high-end manufacturing centre. The airline is also serving Chongqing in the region, with a twice-weekly freighter service operating since 9 August 2011.

Cathay Pacific Director Cargo Nick Rhodes said: "A gradual shift in manufacturing towards Central and Western China has been evident with key players in the consumer electronics field recently setting up in Chongqing and Chengdu. It is estimated that by the end of 2011, one out of five of the world's computers will be made in Chengdu. We are pleased to be able to serve this fast-growing market through our new freighter services.

"While the global airfreight market has seen a slowdown in recent months, Cathay Pacific is still looking for opportunities to expand and diversify its network and develop the Hong Kong hub by serving important new markets," Nick added.

Cathay Pacific is committed to offering its cargo customers a wider choice and developing further Hong Kong's position as a leading international air cargo hub. In addition to adding Chengdu to its freighter network, Cathay Pacific will also enhance its services to Miami from a five-times-weekly flight to a daily service starting 30 October 2011.

The airline will soon begin taking delivery of 10 advanced Boeing 747-8F freighter aircraft, with the first three arriving within this year.

Hong Kong - Chengdu - Shanghai - Hong Kong (from 12 October 2011)